Warwick wins Hamilton County G.O.P. Primary for treasurer.

Judy Warwick was the winner in Tuesday’s Hamilton County G.O.P. Primary Election for County treasurer. In unofficial returns, Warwick received 515 votes with her challenger Cheryl Westrum receiving 373 votes. Warwick will now face Democrat Colleen Hansen in the November general election. The winner will succeed Joni Hilpipre who will be retiring at the end of this year. Warwick is the assistant county treasurer.

Hamilton County Republicans voted for Steve King as the Republican candidate for the U.S. House Fourth District seat on Tuesday. King received 635 votes with his challenger Cyndi Hanson receiving 240 votes. King will be challenged this November by Democrat J.D. Scholten. Democrats in Hamilton County voted for Scholten with a total of 315 votes, Leann Jacobsen received 210 votes. John Paschen received 118 votes in Tuesday’s primary.

In the Democratic race for governor, Fred Hubbell came away the winner in Hamilton County with 457 votes. The other Democratic gubernatorial challengers included Cathy Glasson with 90 votes, John Norris with 61, Andy McGuire with 39 votes and Ross Wilburn with 9 votes. Hubbell will challenge Republican Kim Reynolds in the governor’s race this November.

The Republican race for secretary of agriculture featured current secretary Mike Naig with 334 votes followed by Dan Zumbach with 163, Craig Lang with 109, Ray Gaesser with 94 votes and Chad Ingels with 65. Iowa Republicans will decide at their state convention on June 16th who to nominate for state ag secretary. Naig fell short of winning the statewide primary as he had 34.74 percent of the vote. Naig needed over 35 percent to win the primary. He was appointed as Iowa agriculture secretary last March after former secretary Bill Northey was appointed to a term on the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The Republican nominee will face Democrat Tim Gannon in November.

In another race, Jim Mowrer received a total 416 votes for the Democratic nomination for secretary of state with Deidre DeJear receiving 229. DeJear was the state winner for the Democratic nomination as she will face Republican incumbent Paul Pate in November.